The Crime and Disorder Act 1998 placed a legal responsibility on certain public bodies and other agencies to work together to reduce crime, disorder and the fear of crime locally, in order to improve quality of life and to create a safer living and working environment.

Following the Act various crime and disorder reduction partnerships were set up across the country and one such partnership, which has developed over the years, is the East and Mid Devon Community Safety Partnership.

Members of the Community Safety Partnership include representatives from statutory and voluntary organisations as well as from the business sector. The Partnership Steering Group includes representatives from:

Devon and Cornwall Police

Devon and Cornwall Probation Trust

Devon County Council

Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue

East Devon District Council

Mid Devon District Council

Northern Eastern and Western Clinical Commissioning Group

The steering group meets bi-monthly to monitor and oversee the work of the geographical Local Action Groups (LAGs) along with the Drugs and Alcohol Implementation Group and the Domestic Abuse Forum.

In East Devon there are four LAGs which meet every six weeks and which are attended by representatives from a variety of different agencies. The four groups namely Honiton, Axe Valley (Axminster and Seaton), Exmouth and Sidmouth and Ottery St Mary are not only responsible for the towns but also for the rural areas surrounding them. In Mid Devon there are three such LAGs.

You can read a full version of East and Mid Devon Community Safety Partnership 2012-15 Plan with actions plans for each of the main aims.

Mid-Devon Council host the minutes of partnership meetings on their website.