Strategy 34 of the Adopted Local Plan 2013-2031 requires affordable housing to be provided on all residential developments in East Devon, unless Government guidance indicates otherwise.

Planning Policy Guidance has set minimum thresholds where affordable housing can be sought.  This states that contributions should not be sought from developments of 10 units or less, and which have a maximum combined gross floorspace of no more than 1000 sqm. However, in designated rural areas, local planning authorities may choose to apply a lower threshold of 5 units. East Devon District Council is applying the lower threshold.

Affordable housing can only be sought on schemes above the following:

LocationNumber of dwellings
Number of dwellings
Number of dwellings

Exmouth wards (Town, Littleham, Brixington, Halsdon & Withycombe Raleigh)

Honiton wards (St Micheals and St Pauls)

Seaton ward and Sidmouth urban and rural wards

No affordable housing

No affordable housing

On-site affordable housing

Rest of East Devon

No affordable housing

Affordable housing contribution only

On-site affordable housing

* maximum combined gross floor space of no more than 1,000 sqm

Affordable housing targets

In the following towns a target of 25% of the dwellings shall be affordable:

  • Axminster
  • Exmouth
  • Honiton
  • Ottery St Mary
  • Seaton
  • the major strategic West End development sites (Cranbrook, adjacent to Pinhoe, north of Blackhorse)

The towns are defined by their Built Up Area Boundaries.

In all other parts of East Devon (including Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, rural and coastal areas) a target of 50% affordable housing applies, subject to viability considerations.

Residential developments can also be brought forward under Strategy 35 'Exceptions' policy. This will require at least 66% of homes to be affordable.

Small rural sites and affordable housing

In rural areas (see table above) on sites which provide between 6 and 10 dwellings a contribution towards affordable housing will be sought.  In these cases we will seek a commuted sum payment, payable after completion of units within the development.

The restrictions on seeking affordable housing contributions do not apply to development on rural exception sites.