There was a three-way election in East Devon on Thursday - Parliamentary, District Council and Town and Parish Council.

Independent candidates win total of 16 seats and do well in Sidmouth

The Conservatives retained control of East Devon District Council following the local elections on Thursday, with an overall majority of 15 seats. The ruling party won 37 seats, three fewer than they held before Thursday’s polls.

The new Independent East Devon Alliance group won 10 seats, with Independents winning 6 and the Liberal Democrats also winning 6 seats. The Independent group did especially well in Sidmouth.

The final ward counted on Friday 8 May was declared at around 5pm. This all-day counting session followed hot on the heels of an all-night session where the East Devon Parliamentary seat was counted – with MP Hugo Swire retaining his seat.

As a result of the late finish for the district counts, the town and parish counts will take place on Saturday 9 May, starting at 9.30 in the morning and going through until all the contested parishes have been declared.

The full district council results can be found on the council’s website.

The town and parish results will also be accessible via this website and are expected to be uploaded during the evening of Saturday 9 May.

The number of people registered to vote in East Devon is 102,849. The overall turnout for the three-way election on Thursday was 71.7% - around twice the average turnout for local elections in East Devon.