EDDC Chairman Cllr Stuart Hughes and his Vice Chair Cllr Helen Parr.

Local Mayors and Chairs from across the district attend

East Devon District Council Chairman Cllr Stuart Hughes recently hosted a civic dinner for Chairmen and Mayors across Devon and the district.

The dinner, which is organised every two years, was held at the newly-opened local business the Rockbeare Manor. Local Mayors and Chairs who attended were Cllr Paul Hayward, Mayor of Axminster; Cllr Brian Cole, Mayor of Exmouth; Cllr Caroline Kolek, Mayor of Honiton; Cllr Kim Bloxham, Vice Chair of Cranbrook; Cllr Glyn Dobson, Mayor of Ottery St Mary; Cllr Jeff Turner, Chairman of Sidmouth and Cllr Jack Rowland, Vice Chair of Seaton.

Adrian Harvey, musical director of Sidmouth Town Band, gave a speech which was followed by a collection for the band – Cllr Hughes’ chosen charity for the year – which raised £360.

Cllr Hughes said:

I was delighted to be able to host an event for representatives across not just the county but also our wonderful district. It was a good opportunity to showcase a new business which has invested into restoring an historic listed building, as well as raise much needed funds for my nominated charity, the Sidmouth Town Band.