Pictured is new East Devon District Council Chairman Cllr Andrew Moulding with retiring Chairman Cllr Stuart Hughes.

Senior councillor Andrew Moulding elected as Chairman

A senior councillor with a wealth of experience in local government has been elected as the new Chairman for East Devon District Council for the next year.

Councillor Andrew Moulding, who represents Axminster Town ward, has served in local government for more than thirty years with the district and Axminster town councils. He has also represented Axminster – the town where he was born – as a Devon County councillor for eight years and was its Chairman for a year before standing down earlier this month.

Cllr Moulding was elected at East Devon District Council’s annual meeting (Wednesday May 17) and he told fellow councillors:

This is a very, very proud moment for me. I have been a district councillor for thirty years and this is the council I love.

He paid tribute to retiring chairman Cllr Stuart Hughes and said:

He has chaired the council with great dignity and fairness over the last two years and he has done a splendid job.

Cllr David Key, who represents Otterhead ward, was elected as Vice Chairman and takes over the role from Cllr Helen Parr.

Cllr Paul Diviani was elected as the council’s Leader and Cllr Phil Twiss takes over from Cllr Moulding as the Deputy Leader of the council. Cllr Twiss was also appointed as the cabinet member for Strategic Development and Partnerships.

The following councillors have been appointed to the Cabinet:

Cabinet member for Corporate Services: Cllr Iain Chubb

Cabinet member for Economy: Cllr Philip Skinner

Cabinet member for the Environment: Cllr Tom Wright (deputy Cllr Marcus Hartnell)

Cabinet member for Finance: Cllr Ian Thomas

Cabinet member for Sustainable Homes and Communities: Cllr Jill Elson

Cabinet member without Portfolio: Cllr Eileen Wragg

Cabinet member without Portfolio: Cllr Geoff Pook.

Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of East Devon District Council’s committees are:

Overview Committee: Cllr Graham Godbeer (Chair) and Cllr Ian Hall (Vice Chair)

Scrutiny Committee: Cllr Roger Giles (Chair) and Cllr Alan Dent (Vice Chair)

Housing Review Board: Cllr Pauline Stott (Chair), Vice Chair to be appointed by Housing Review Board

Strategic Planning Committee: Cllr Phil Twiss (Chair) and Cllr Graham Godbeer (Vice Chair)

Development Management Committee: Cllr Mike Howe (Chair) and Cllr Colin Brown (Vice Chair)

Audit and Governance: Cllr Mark Williamson (Chair) and Cllr Dean Barrow (Vice Chair)

Standards: Chairman of the CouncilCllr Andrew Moulding (Chair)

Interviewing (Chief Officers): Cllr Paul Diviani (Chair) and Cllr Phil Twiss (Vice Chair)

Employment Appeals: Cllr Phil Twiss (Chair)

Licensing and Enforcement: Cllr Steve Hall (Chair) and Cllr John O’Leary (Vice Chair)

Lead councillors

Axminster – Cllr Ian Hall

Culture – Cllr John O’Leary

Exmouth – Cllr John Humphreys

Employment and business – Cllr Mike Allen

Health and wellbeing – Cllr Cherry Nicholas

Member development and engagement – Cllr Maddy Chapman

Neighbourhood planning – Cllr Mark Williamson

Planning, design and heritage: – Cllr Alan Dent

Procurement – Cllr Graham Godbeer

Rural – Cllr Paul Carter

Sport and recreation – Cllr Darryl Nicholas

Tourism- Cllr Jenny Brown

Youth – Cllr Mark Evans-Martin.