Pictured are, from left, David Atkins, Cllr Stuart Hughes (retiring chairman of East Devon District Council) and Peter Bowden.

Former councillors David Atkins and Peter Bowden conferred with new titles

Two former East Devon District councillors have been appointed as Honorary Aldermen in recognition of their valued contribution to the communities they represented and to the council they served.

Peter Bowden and David Atkins were both conferred with their new titles after a vote by councillors at an extra ordinary meeting of the district council last week.

Mr Atkins served on the council for a total of 26 years from 1973 to 1991 and from 2007 to 2015 and he held several positions of responsibility on several key council committees including chairman of planning from 1987 to 1991, chairman of tourism from 1983 to 1987, chairman of property services from 1980 to 1983 and vice chairman of environmental services from 1977 to 1980. He was also chairman of East Devon Citizens’ Advice Bureau Management Committee for 21 years.

Cllr Mark Williamson, who proposed that the title be conferred to Mr Atkins, said that he had an in-depth knowledge of the council and the district of East Devon which had been invaluable during his time as a councillor.

Mr Bowden, who only stood down from the council earlier this year, had represented the wards of both Broadclyst and Whimple. Cllr Tom Wright, who proposed that Mr Bowden should be awarded the title, told the council that he had fought hard to maintain the identities of the villages surrounding the new town of Cranbrook. He added that Mr Bowden had championed sustainable growth and had always been well prepared to deal with any subject or issue he was faced with.

Mr Bowden, who is emigrating to Australia, has also held many positions of responsibility on council committees including chairman of overview from 2015 to 2017, and vice chairman of strategic planning from 2016 to 2017 and audit and governance from 2011 to 2015. He was also member champion for risk management from 2008 to 2011 and for flood alleviation from 2013 to 2017.