The Landscape of East Devon

East Devon is blessed with a landscape of exceptional quality. Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONBs) cover around two thirds of the District and much of the coastline forms part of a World Heritage site.

Landscape Character Assessment

To help understand more about the landscape character and quality of East Devon there have been a number of landscape studies. The need for a detailed Landscape Character Assessment (LCA) at the local planning authority level is identified in an existing Devon County Council Landscape Appraisal (2002) and AONB Management Plan.

The Landscape Character Assessment and Management Guidelines (LCA & MG) for East Devon and the Blackdown Hills has been produced in accordance with national guidance. It covers the whole of the East Devon District and the area covered by the Blackdown Hills AONB, extending into Somerset. It has been produced in partnership with the East Devon AONB and Blackdown Hills AONB teams with funding support from Natural England.

 Landscape Character Map

The above map has an ordnance survey base map, and the legend identifies the 13 landscape character types (LCTs) which relate to East Devon.

How to use the guidelines

  1. Find out where your site is by clicking on then viewing the large map on these pages which has an ordnance survey (OS) base map with the landscape character types (LCT) overlaid on top as a see-through layer. 
  2. Use the OS base map to find out which landscape character type (LCT) your site is located in.
  3. Either go to the full LCA & MG document or open the individual LCT sections that your site is within to confirm what information there is on the landscape condition, features and proposed management guidelines for that LCT. 
  4. Use the information there to help guide your landscape proposals or development.

Landscape Character Assessment and Management Guidelines 

Each section of the document is available through the links below: -

 Introduction and appendices 

Landscape Character Type 1: Plateaux

Landscape Character Type 2: Scarp slopes

Landscape Character Type 3: Valley Slopes

Landscape Character Type 4: Valley Floors

Landscape Character Type 5: Cliffs