Guide Elections

Show all parts of this guide

4. European Parliament elections

Elections to the European Parliament are held every five years.  The UK is divided into twelve electoral regions (East Devon is within the South West Region) with between three and ten MEPs representing each region.  The nine English regions elected 59 MEPs.  All 736 MEPs in the European Parliament are elected under some form of proportional representation. 

The next European Parliamentary election will be held in May 2019.