Strategy 34 of the Adopted Local Plan 2013-2031 requires affordable housing to be provided on all residential developments in East Devon, unless Government guidance indicates otherwise.

Planning Policy Guidance and National Planning Policy Framework  set minimum thresholds where affordable housing can be sought.  This states that the provision of affordable housing should not be sought for residential developments that are not major, other than in designated rural areas. In designated rural areas, East Devon District Council applies the threshold of 5 units or fewer. Major developments are schemes of 10 or more homes or where the site has an area of 0.5 hectares or more.

Affordable housing contributions can only be sought on schemes above the following:

Location Major residential development (10 dwellings or more or 0.5 ha in size) No. of dwellings 1-5 No. of dwellings 6-9

Exmouth Wards (Town, Littleham, Brixington, Halsdon & Withycombe Raleigh

Honiton Wards (St Micheals and St Pauls)

Seaton ward and Sidmouth urban and rural wards

On site affordable housing No affordable housing No affordable housing
Rest of East Devon (classed as rural areas under the housing act) On site affordable housing no affordable housing or a contribution Financial contribution towards affordable housing

Affordable housing targets

In the following towns a target of 25% of the dwellings shall be affordable:

  • Axminster
  • Exmouth
  • Honiton
  • Ottery St Mary
  • Seaton
  • the major strategic West End development sites (Cranbrook, adjacent to Pinhoe, north of Blackhorse)

The towns are defined by their Built Up Area Boundaries.

In all other parts of East Devon (including Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, rural and coastal areas) a target of 50% affordable housing applies, subject to viability considerations.

Residential developments can also be brought forward under Strategy 35 'Exceptions' policy. This will require at least 66% of homes to be affordable.

Small rural sites and affordable housing

In rural areas (see table above) on sites which provide between 6 and 9 dwellings a contribution towards affordable housing will be sought.  In these cases we will seek a commuted sum payment, payable after completion of units within the development.

The restrictions on seeking affordable housing contributions do not apply to development on rural exception sites.