Councillors Alasdair Bruce and Jake Bonetta have been elected to East Devon District Council after by-elections held on Thursday.


239 number of residents voted for Alasdair Bruce, who has won the seat in Feniton after a turnout of 21%.

Three candidates, including Linda Baden (Labour), Alasdair Bruce (Conservative) and Todd Olive (Liberal Democrats), were put forward for the seat.

The seat was made available following the resignation of Susie Bond.

Honiton St Michael

Jake Bonetta (Labour) is now East Devon’s ward councillor at Honiton St Michael after winning 807 number of votes, following a turnout of 25%.

The other two candidates who stood were Jules Hoyles (Liberal Democrat) and Jenny Brown (Conservative Party)

The seat was made available after the resignation of Luke Jeffery.