Councillor Chris Burhop has been elected to East Devon District Council after a by-election held on Thursday.

560 number of residents voted for Chris Burhop, who has won the seat in Newton Poppleford and Harpford after a turnout of 46%.

Three candidates, including Paul Carter (Conservative) and Caleb Early (Labour) were put forward for the seat.

The seat was made available following the death of Val Ranger.