The list of those vying for the Exmouth Brixington Ward seat at East Devon District Council’s (EDDC) upcoming by-election on May 2, 2024, has been published.

The four candidates are: Aurora Bailey (Conservative Party Candidate), Julie Bennett (The Labour Party), Dianne Conduit (Liberal Democrats) and Michael, Rosser (The Green Party).

Electors must be registered to cast their vote. If you are not already registered, it’s a quick and easy process that can be carried out online via the Government website.

The deadline for registration is midnight on Tuesday 16 April. Postal vote applications must be lodged by 5pm on Wednesday 17 April. Postal vote applications can now be done online via the Government website 

People planning to vote in person at a polling station must provide photo ID – this can include a passport, driving licence or older person’s bus pass. The full list of acceptable ID can be found on the Electoral Commission website.  

You can still use your photo ID if it is out of date, if it is still a good likeness of you. The name on your ID should be the same name you used to register to vote. 

Those without the necessary ID can apply for the FREE Voter Authority Certificate (VAC) – the deadline is 5pm on Wednesday, 24 April 2024. Applications can be made online, by post or in person. Help and advice is available from the East Devon elections team on 0300 123 2224. 

For more information visit