Guide Unilateral undertakings, section 106 agreements, habitat mitigation and affordable housing contributions

Show all parts of this guide

5. Commuted sum calculator stage 1 b

Establish which of the six value areas your scheme falls within 

The calculator divides the district into 6 market areas:

  • Axminster
  • East of Exeter
  • Honiton/Ottery St. Mary
  • Rural
  • Seaton/Exmouth
  • Sidmouth/Coastal

For Axminster, Honiton, Ottery St. Mary, Seaton, and Exmouth the contributions apply to development falling within the Built-up Area Boundaries as defined by the Local Plan. Outside of the Built-up Area Boundaries and the site will fall within either the Rural or Coastal Market Areas.

The East of Exeter, Rural and Sidmouth/Coastal areas cover the following settlements and their immediately surrounding areas:

East of Exeter:

  • Clyst Honiton, Pinhoe, Sowton and West Clyst.


  • Alfington, Awliscombe, Aylesbeare, Brampford Speke, Broadclyst, Broadhembury, Chardstock, Colyford, Colyton, Dalwood, Dunkeswell, Feniton, Hawkchurch, Kilmington, Membury, Musbury, Newton Poppleford, Offwell, Payhembury, Plymtree/Normans Green, Raymonds Hill, Rewe, Rockbeare, Sidbury, Smallridge, Stockland, Stoke Canon, Talaton, Tipton St. John, Upottery, West Hill, Whimple , Woodbury, Woodbury Salterton.


  • Axmouth, Beer, Branscombe, Budleigh Salterton, Clyst St. George, Clyst St. Mary, Colaton Raleigh, East Budleigh, Ebford, Exton, Lympstone, Otterton, Rousdon, Sidmouth, Sidford, Uplyme.