Guide Elections

Show all parts of this guide

7. Police and Crime Commissioner elections

The first elections of Police and Crime Commissioners (PCC) took place across England and Wales (excluding London) on 15 November 2012.  Following this, a second election was held on 5 May 2016.

Residents of East Devon vote for the Devon and Cornwall Police and Crime Commissioner.  British, EU and Commonwealth citizens are eligible to vote if they are  on the Electoral Register.

Elections are held every four years, and voting takes place using the supplementary vote system.

The next election will be held in 2024.