Guide East and Mid Devon Community Safety Partnership plans

Show all parts of this guide

2. Local Action Groups

Each main town in East  Devon has a geographically based Local Action Group (LAG), which is responsible for the town and its rural communities. In East Devon there are five namely, Axe Valley (Axminster and Seaton), Honiton, Exmouth, Cranbrook and finally Sidmouth and Ottery St Mary.

LAGs which are unique to East Devon in the Devon and Cornwall area were established to tackle crime, disorder, antisocial behaviour and community safety issues within those localities. They comprise local officers, some of which are from the statutory organisations mentioned above, but also may include elected members and representatives from the voluntary and business sectors.

In addition there is the Domestic and Sexual Violence and Abuse Forum.

Each of the LAGs and the forum have objectives and action plans which link to the partnership plan. In order to achieve these objectives they have access to relatively small amounts of funding from the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner, Devon and Cornwall via Safer Devon Partnership

Often it is not the large expensive projects that prove to be the most beneficial to local areas but much smaller and cheaper ones that can have a major impact.